Valgrisenche is the main town in the valley of the same name. It lies at an altitude of 1664 metres, 29 kilometres from Aosta. Only fragmentary details are known about the origins of the town. The Centroni, a population who used to live in the Tarantaise, penetrated the valley from the Col du Mont in approximately 200 B.C. During the Middle Ages Valgrisenche was a feud of the Seigneurie of Avise and later of the House of Savoy.
The Col du Mont played an important role in trade with neighbouring Savoy and was fought over at various times.
In 1960 Beauregard dam was completed and this now occupies the broadest part of the valley.
Valgrisenche is a tourist centre with hotels, para-hotel structures, restaurants, discotheques and other facilities.
The mountains surrounding the valley are well known to skiers for their powder snow. Several famous alpine skiing routes and heliski descents are to be found on these peaks.
The ski fields are currently served by three ski-lifts with approximately 10 kilometres of well-beaten sunny slopes, in addition to approved circular tracks for cross-country skiing which cover a total of 7.5 kilometres. In particularly good snow conditions there is a 12-kilometre track around the artificial Beauregard lake. The ice falls form a special attraction for piolet-traction enthusiasts. In addition, a number of rock faces have been equipped for rock climbing enthusiasts Valgrisenche boasts an association of alpine guides and ski teachers.
The "drap", a woollen cloth which was previously used for clothing and now sewn into brightly coloured blankets and covers, is produced in Valgrisenche using traditional looms.